You can use employee roles to group and limit your employees by levels of access in your Retail account. For example, you might want to disable access to the Reports section for your associates. Because multiple employees can be assigned to the same employee role, you'll also save time by not having to set or edit permissions for every individual employee.
Should an employee need their own set of permissions, you can give them a Custom employee role and set their permissions from within their employee account. For more information on how to do so, please see the What's next? section of our Adding employees article.
Before you begin
Before adding a multitude of employees, first define a well-structured set of employee roles. Although Lightspeed Retail includes built-in roles such as: Owner, Admin, Manager and Associate to help you get started, we encourage you to define the roles that make the most sense for your business. If you do, give new employee roles meaningful names such as Summer Intern or Floor Manager for example.
When adding new employee roles, also keep in mind the following rules surrounding employee roles:
- You can add up to 21 custom employee roles.
- Every employee role you add needs to have a unique name.
- Built-in roles (e.g. Owner or Admin) can't be archived.
- Only unassigned employee roles can be archived and unarchived.
Add an employee role
- From the main menu, click Settings > Employee Roles.
- Click + New Employee Role.
- Give the new employee role a meaningful name.
- Configure the permissions of the employee role (see the table below).
- Click Save Changes.
Employee role permissions
|External login||Can log into Lightspeed Retail from any device connected to the internet when the Lightspeed Retail session is closed. A user without external login rights can only log into Lightspeed Retail using their access PIN locally when the application is open.|
|Reports||Can access the Reports area. Can also access Home if have both Reports and Inventory - Product Cost enabled.|
|Service||Can access the Service area.|
|Sales||Can access the Sales area. Disabling this option prevents the user from making sales.|
|Sales - Refund||Can process a refund.|
|Sales - Open Register||Can open a register (till) to process sales and refunds. This does not apply to a user’s ability to physically open a register.|
|Sales - Register Withdraw||Can withdraw money from a register.|
|Sales - Close Register||Can close a register.|
|Sales - Change Prices||Can change the prices of items. If this is enabled and the employee has inventory access, they can change an item’s price from the item settings for all subsequent sales, and also directly from a sale, which affects the item price for that sale only. If the employee does not have inventory access, they can only change an item’s price for a sale.|
|Sales - Import Catalog Item||Can import items from catalogs to the local inventory from the Sales screen.|
|Sales - Layaways & Special Orders||Can create layaways & special orders.|
|Sales - Line Only Discount||Can apply a discount to individual line items.|
|Sales - Entire Sale Discount||Can apply discounts to an entire sale.|
|Inventory - Basic||Can access the Inventory area. Can also add serial numbers during the sale of serialized items.|
|Inventory - Product Cost||Can view, edit and export item cost. Can also access Home if have both Reports and Inventory - Product Cost enabled.|
|Inventory - Product Create & Edit||Can create new items or edit existing items. This is required for more advanced permissions that add or remove inventory. Can also edit existing serial numbers.|
|Inventory - Special Orders||Can view existing Special Orders.|
|Inventory - Purchase Orders||Can access and receive Purchase Orders.|
|Inventory - Vendor Returns||Can access and send Vendor Returns.|
|Inventory - Counts||Can create inventory counts.|
|Inventory - Transfers||Can create, build and receive transfers between shops. Transfers are only available in multi-store accounts.|
|Inventory - Transfers: Send stock for transfer||Can send items in transfers between shops.|
|Inventory - Import Images and Items||Can import both items and product images into inventory.|
|Inventory - Vendors||Can edit Vendors.|
|Inventory - Categories||Can edit Categories.|
|Inventory - Brands||Can edit Brands.|
|Inventory - Tags||Can edit Tags.|
|Inventory - Vendor Return Reasons||Can edit Vendor Return Reasons.|
|eCom - Basic||Can access the eCom tab.|
|Customers - Export||
Can export customer data from the following areas:
|Customers - Basic||Can access the Customers area. Can also edit existing serial numbers.|
|Customers - Credit Limit||Can set credit limits for customers.|
|Customers - Customer Deletion||Can delete customer accounts and anonymize customer data in entire Retail account.|
|Settings - Basic||Can access the Settings area.|
|Settings - Setup Shops||Can access Shop Settings in Settings.|
|Settings - Employee Setup||Can access Employee Setup and Employee Roles in Settings.|
|Settings - Employee Account Deletion||Can delete employee accounts and anonymize employee data in entire Retail account.|
|Settings - Sales Setup||Can set Price Rules, Discounts, Payment Types, and taxes.|
|Settings - Void Sales||Can void transactions.|
|Settings - Pricing||Can access inventory-related settings in Settings.|
Now that you've added your employee roles, add employees and assign them to an employee role. For detailed instructions on how to do so, please see our Adding employees article.
If you already have existing employees, simply reassign them to the correct employee role if required.