After creating a work order, you can view and update work orders from the Service > Work Orders page.
Sharing work order information with customers
If you want to share quotes, estimates, or printed work order information with your customers:
- Navigate to Service > Work Orders.
- Click a work order ID.
- Click:
- Print Tag to print a paper reference to help link the item to the work order.
- Print Quote to print the work order details in a branded template, including an authorization signature section.
-
Send As Email to send the quote as an email > enter the customer's email address and a custom message > Send Email Work Order.
If you have Lightspeed Payments, you can also request a deposit and collect a partial payment for a work order upfront by clicking Request payment > enter the information > Send payment request. The customer will receive a payment request via email with a summary of the sale and a secure payment form to settle the request.
Changing the customer attached to a work order
To change which customer is attached to a work order:
- Navigate to Services > Work orders.
- Click the work order ID.
- On the customer row, click Edit Customer or Remove. If you remove the customer, the sales line will also be removed.
- Review the warning message, then click OK. Special orders will be deleted, and reserved units will be returned to your inventory.
- You’ll be directed to add a customer. Once a customer is added to the work order, you’ll be redirected back to the Work Order page.
If work order items have been put on special order, the special order will be removed when the customer is removed from the work order. If you still want to special order items for the work order, check the Special Order box in the item row once you’ve re-added a customer.
Moving work orders between shop locations
If needed, you can move work orders between shop locations.
To move work items between different areas within a location, use service locations.
- Navigate to Service > Work Orders.
- Click the work order ID.
-
From the Status dropdown, select the location where you’re moving the work order.
- Click OK.
When you move a work order, any items reserved at the current location will be returned to the current location's inventory, and then be reserved in the new shop’s inventory.
Duplicating a work order
If a work order hasn’t been completed, it can be duplicated. The duplicate includes all items and information on the original order, except order-specific features like item serial numbers. To duplicate a work order:
- Navigate to Service > Work Orders.
- Click the work order ID.
- Click Duplicate. This will automatically open a new tab with the duplicate order.
On iPad, the duplicate order isn’t visible until you navigate back to the Work Orders page.
Completing work orders
Once a work order is completed, it can be closed from the work order itself or through a sale.
Closing through the order form
- Navigate to Service > Work Orders.
- Click the work order ID.
-
From the Status dropdown, select Finished.
- If needed, add, remove, or update the items or charges on the work order.
-
Click Checkout.
- Complete the payment.
Closing a work order during a sale
- Navigate to Sales > New Sale.
- In the Search Customers field, enter a customer with an open work order.
- Next to the customer, click Attach To Sale
-
Click the Work Orders tab.
-
Click Complete to the left of the work order to transfer it to the Sale tab.
- In the Sale tab, add additional items or charges to the sale as needed.
- Complete the sale.
Removing a work order from a sale
To remove a work order from a sale, click Remove beside the order description.
This moves the work order back to the Work Orders tab.
Bulk completing work orders
If a customer has multiple open work orders, they can be completed all at once. From the open sale:
- Click the Work Orders tab.
-
Click Complete All.
This moves all work orders to the Sale tab. This may take a moment, depending on the size of the work order.
Archiving work orders
Archiving a work order returns reserved units to your inventory and deletes any special orders. These will be removed from the Work Orders page and won’t be available when checking out.
- Navigate to Service > Work Orders.
- Click the work order ID.
- Click Archive.
Viewing archived work orders
- Navigate to Service > Work Orders.
- Click Advanced.
-
Check the Show Archived box, then click Search to refresh the page and make archived work orders visible.
You can access an archived work order by clicking the ID or Customer. To un-archive an order, click Un-Archive from the archived work order page.
If you duplicate an archived work order, the copy won’t be archived.
Adding work orders to your calendar
When you subscribe to a calendar feed (calendar URL), your calendar application (Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Apple Calendar) syncs regularly to automatically pull in updates. A calendar URL is different from importing a calendar file, which creates a one-time file import.
You can have Retail POS work orders display as calendar events that include due dates and key details. To set up the work order calendar feed, you need to generate a unique calendar URL in Retail POS and subscribe to the URL in your calendar application. Your calendar app will periodically sync with Retail POS to fetch the latest work orders and updates.
Each work order event includes:
- Work order ID and number
- Customer name
- Assigned employee (if applicable)
- Current status
- Shop location name
- A direct link to view the work order in Retail POS
Work orders display as all-day events based on their due date (ETA Out).
Generating a work orders calendar URL
- Navigate to Services > Schedule.
-
Click Calendar Link.
- Click Copy next to the calendar feed URL.
The URL can now be pasted into your Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, or Apple Calendar.
Adding the calendar URL to your calendar
To add the work orders calendar URL to your calendar:
- Google Calendar: In a web browser on a computer, navigate to your Google Calendar and follow steps to use a link to add a public calendar.
- Outlook calendar: In a web browser, navigate to your Outlook calendar and follow steps to subscribe to a calendar.
-
Apple Calendar:
- On a Mac, open the Calendar app and follow steps to subscribe to a calendar.
- On your iPad, open the Calendar app and follow steps to set up a calendar.
Once added, the calendar will automatically update whenever the source calendar changes, helping you stay informed of any new or modified events.
Troubleshooting calendar issues
If your calendar isn't displaying:
- Ensure that you've pasted the complete URL without any extra spaces.
- Verify that the calendar URL is publicly accessible and not password-protected.
- Make sure the URL begins with
http://orhttps://(some services usewebcal://which should work automatically).
If events aren't updating, trying refreshing the calendar page. Wait a few minutes and try again. Different services may sync at different intervals.
If the events are displaying in the wrong time zone:
- Check your calendar application's time zone settings.
- Verify that the source calendar has time zones properly configured.