Deleting categories in eCom (C-series) won't delete them from Retail POS. However, if a category is deleted in Retail POS, the deletion will reflect in eCom. To keep a consistent category structure across both platforms, always delete categories from Retail POS first.
Deleting a category permanently deletes all the content in its settings page, including any images, text, or SEO customization. You can also hide a category instead of removing it completely. It will still exist in your eCom admin, but it won't appear on your website.
You can only delete a category if it doesn't have subcategories. To delete a category with subcategories, move or delete its subcategories first.
Reviewing products included in a category
Review which products are assigned to a category before deleting it. Once the category is deleted, it will not be associated to the products previously assigned to it.
- In eCom (C-Series), navigate to Products> Categories.
- Select the title of the category to open its settings.
- Scroll down to Products.
- Click Manage products to display all products in that category.
Deleting categories for eCom (C-Series)
You can delete a category in eCom directly from the Category overview page or from each category's page.
To delete a category from the category overview page:
- In eCom (C-Series), navigate to Products> Categories.
- Select the check box next to any category without subcategories.
- Select N item(s) selected to open the drop down menu.
- Select Delete Selected Categories.
To delete a category from the category's settings page:
- In eCom (C-Series), navigate to Products> Categories.
- Select the title of any category without subcategories.
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and select Delete category.