Merging customer records

You might have duplicate records in your list of customers, for example if a new record was created for an existing customer. In Lightspeed Retail you can merge the details into one record. When you merge customer records, the details of the record you choose as the primary record are kept, and the secondary customer record is deleted. If the primary record has a field with no information and information exists in the secondary record, the information from the secondary record is copied to the primary record. If there's conflicting information, for example if both records have different mobile phone numbers, the information in the primary record is kept.

NOTE: Merging cannot be undone.

To merge customer records

  1. To access your customer records, from the Main Menu click Customers > Customers.
  2. To find a customer record to edit, enter the customer's name in the Customer search field and click Search.
  3. To merge two customers that are the same, open the customer record you want to keep as the primary record.
  4. On the left menu click Merge and select the check box for the secondary customer record you want to want to merge into the primary customer record and click Merge.

The customer details of the secondary customer record are now merged into the new record.

Have more questions? Submit a request